14-04-10 The importance of vegan advocacy

This week on the show I discuss three articles/campaigns, the outrage over a lobster being boiled alive on Close Up, the Love Pigs campaign and HSUS’s solution to ending the seal hunt: eating non canadian sea food.

All of these campaigns are misleading the public and spreading the lie that some forms of animal exploitation are OK. All of these campaigns desperately need to be focusing on veganism.

I also read out this poem called I Want Freedom Now:

I don’t want bigger cages
I don’t want longer chains,
I want freedom now,
I don’t want to be a slave.

Reform is passed for me,
Yet I do not care.
Because I’m still on death row,
And I still live my life in fear.

Check out this recipe for French Lentil Soup:

Ingredients
2 cups french lentils
2 teaspoons olive oil
1 large white onion, diced medium
1 large carrot, peeld and diced small
5 plum tomatoes, diced
4 cloves garlic, minced
2 teaspoons dried tarragon
1 teaspoon dried thyme
1 teaspoon paprika (hungarian if you’ve got it)
2 bay leaves
1 1/2 teaspoons salt
A couple of generous dashes fresh black pepper
6 cups water all together + 2 veggie bullions or 6 cups veggie broth

Directions
First a note about the water, when I add it at first I just add 4 cups, and then towards the end I add another 2. Just don’t want you to miss that and add it all at once.

Heat olive oil in the soup pot. Add carrots and onions and cook about 10 minutes over med-high heat, until onions are browning and even a little burnt. Add the garlic , herbs and spices (except bay leaves), saute 2 minutes. Add the tomatoes and a little spash of water if neccesary and stir to deglaze the pot. Cover and cook for 5 minutes.

Add salt, 4 cups of water and bullions or veg broth and cover to bring to a boil. Add the lentils and bay leaves and cover again. Simmer about 45 minutes until lentils are almost totally tender. Add 2 more cups of water, cover and bring to a boil again, about 15 more minutes. If it looks to thin, uncover and simmer for a couple of minutes. If it looks too thick, add a little more water. Serve with good crusty bread.

Download

2 Comments

  1. I love the poem. May I post it on FB?

    • I’m glad you like the poem! Yes you can post it on FaceBook.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

